Tarot Deck Desk Display

Tarot Deck Desk Display

Table display of favorite tarot decks

Table display of favorite tarot decks

Above is the Waite-Smith Magician, front and back views, serving as “book ends” for a collection of often-used Tarot Cards.  The Magician stands at one end, wand raised high while standing in the garden of white lillys and red roses.  At the other end, his table and tools of his trade are shown; the upright staff/wand at the right of the table, the cup, sword and pentacle resting on the table.

While most of my reading are done via the Internet, I do some public and private readings.  At these times I have my reading decks displayed, a code of ethics (in a clear upright photo frame decorated with miniature tarot cards), and a Readings & Rate display — all of this completes the reading table accessories.   A small business card holder, embellished with a Tarot Motif (also hand carved) and a brochure display is placed elsewhere.  At a later time, I’ll share images of these items as well.

My belief is that a Tarot Reader has to set himself/herself apart from the others, particularly when reading at book stores, libraries, and fairs.  Dressing neatly and portraying the business accessories noted above shows that you are committed to doing well and taking yourself seriously.   While many approach Tarot Reading as a lighthearted pastime, setting the proper mood permits  the Reader to take charge while guiding the Querent (customer) into an attitude of being able to be guided into and through the reading.  The Reader has “Intent” (which opens many doors into one’s abilities), “knowledge of the historical and specific deck card meanings” (which draws upon culturally shared images and feelings), and experience in relating and dialoging with others.  The Querent needs to be able to “suspend disbelief” of the card’s magical ability to portray useful information while being open to conversation.  All of this is facilitated by the presence of serious business accessories.

My question for each of you: How do you set the mood for your readings?  How do you dress for the occassion?  I have visited tarot readers who were women and who dressed in dress and accessories that were gypsy, pagan or eclectic in the nature — and who just “glowed” playing the part of a tarot reader.  Being an older male, and having a differing personality, I couldn’t carry that sort of dress or presentation off very well.  So, please share.  Dave

About dadsnook

Dave has been exploring cyclic astrology since the mid-1970's. CYCLIC astrology utilizes both Return charts and planetary-pair cycles for short-term prediction. These practices and four years of archived material are available for study or reading at ninthhouse.wordpress.com A new book, Personal Prediction ISBN 978-9-615-63033-5, has been published and the MC-Solar Cycle technique is now supported through a recognized software provider so that all students and practicing astrologers can apply these techniques for their own use. Recently, Dave has been exploring a new charting format:, transiting Moon to natal Sun Return charts. These moon-sun returns show how see seek to maintain or deal with change in our lives. A book is expected to be released in 2015. Contact Dave for details at dadsnook@charter.net Dave is a retired business systems analyst and automation systems engineer, enjoys woodcarving and tarot in addition to astrology.
This entry was posted in Tarot Art. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tarot Deck Desk Display

  1. Fun blog! I like the idea of a desk display case for Tarot cards. Everyone knows I need better ways to display mine! I have more than I care to count, and none of them are organized . . . just spread sporadically throughout the various places I stay. Living space, my room, my kitchen, my car . . . you know, the places one normally uses Tarot.

    There are some fun boxes and holders I use that I found at this Tarot Accessories website, http://www.silverwingtarot.com – but it’s just not the same.

  2. dadsnook says:

    For Theresa and Dawn Jones
    Thank you both for your comments. I agree with the need to show a more normal or professional appearance. If the meeting is to explore concerns through Tarot, then the focus deserves to remain on the cards as the means to symbolically lead us into dialog and understanding.

    The cards seem to bring that electric connection between people as they portray a view into the question. I’m going to post another favorite spread soon, sometimes called the horoscope spread which I use in very unique ways. Being an astrologer I can take advantage of its concepts that many Tarot readers may not be comfortable doing. If either of you, or anyone else, wishes to join with me in exploring this spread through a reading please let me know. It will be much more in depth than the Astro-Tarot readings given earlier. Dave

  3. Dawn Jones says:

    Hi! Lovely blog you’ve got here. I agree with Theresa’s response; first impressions are very important and if you are dressed in an unprofessional manner (or look like you’d belong in a tent at a carnival gazing into a crystal ball), then this is the very first impression your clients will get. For personal readings, I recommend clean, comfortable, professional looking attire. :)

    Love the idea of displaying your code of ethics, very nice thought.

  4. Theresa says:

    I don’t dress up in any type of costume as I don’t like the stereotypes (gyspey, witch, etc.). I wear comfortable clothes and am rather innocuous looking. This allows my clients to feel as if I am neutral and doesn’t scare any one or make a mockery out of what I do.

    For some costumes are fine, but I am not comfortable with that.

Comments are closed.