Tarot Carvings

Tarot Carvings

I was reviewing my tarot carving photos last evening.  There is a background story behind this hobby of mine and the photos that I have.  I had a web-site which was devoted to illustrating these carvings and offering them for sale.  The tarot carvings were grouped into miniature cards, tarot figures (about 6″ high) carved in deep relief which were mounted on a variety of storage and desk boxes, readers/carry kits and display plaques, and several tarot accessories.

What I found over time was that Tarotist’s love to collect decks and spend a lot of money on their deck collections, many having hundreds of decks.  They spend much less, percentage-wise, on tarot books, and they would not part with money to buy anything else — even though it was so unique and not available anywhere else.  Consequently, I closed the site down.

My next project which is now approaching the end-point, was to write a book on astrological prediction based on my 35+ years of experience.  This effort has brought my tarot carvings to a near-standstill situation.  I have been carving carousel horses, one full sized one, many smaller ones suitable for a desk or to make into a lamp.  These are being provided to our grandchildren.  I will be starting a full dimensional tarot figure this summer.

In any case, the photos taken then worked well for thumbnail photos on a web site, but are not suitable (read as clear) at larger scales for use here.  This will/would require repainting (to freshen up the colors) and photography before I can post more of these.  So, to make a long story shorter, I will seek to find the time to paint and photograph a few pieces for posting here, and I will post photos as I go through the carving process of the new piece I will be starting in a week or so.

There seems to be a substantial interest in tarot carvings based on the number of views that are recorded by WordPress.  The only shortcomming of this blog, for me, to date is the shyness of the many visitors in terms of posting comments.  Dave

About dadsnook

Dave has been exploring cyclic astrology since the mid-1970's. CYCLIC astrology utilizes both Return charts and planetary-pair cycles for short-term prediction. These practices and four years of archived material are available for study or reading at ninthhouse.wordpress.com A new book, Personal Prediction ISBN 978-9-615-63033-5, has been published and the MC-Solar Cycle technique is now supported through a recognized software provider so that all students and practicing astrologers can apply these techniques for their own use. Recently, Dave has been exploring a new charting format:, transiting Moon to natal Sun Return charts. These moon-sun returns show how see seek to maintain or deal with change in our lives. A book is expected to be released in 2015. Contact Dave for details at dadsnook@charter.net Dave is a retired business systems analyst and automation systems engineer, enjoys woodcarving and tarot in addition to astrology.
This entry was posted in Tarot Art. Bookmark the permalink.