Rough version of Hanged Man

Rough version of Hanged Man tarot figure

With a little sunshine and a pleasant day, I had time Monday to do some more carving on the Hanged Man figure.  Unfortunately, my camera software wouldn’t function here on my vacation computer so I had to wait until I visited my home yesterday to download the photos there.

HangedMan 007While this photograph was taken with a hand-held camera, it does show that the piece has been fully roughed out although the tree has yet to be completed.  The facial features have been roughed in, the clothing is shown, even the bare feet have been done.

I have carved this piece before in deep relief but not in full three dimensions.  More planning (drawing on three sides of the wood block with a pencil) must be done as one starts and continues the roughing process in order to keep the anatomical portions in scale and appropriately placed.  This was especially true in this case as the whole body posture had to relate to the rope around the ankle as the pivot/balance point.

In the next few days I will finish the body detail and then complete the tree/leaves.  After that, I will mount it on a base and then carve the figure’s jacket and boots placed upon the ground near the base of the tree.  Finally, staining the base and painting the figure.

During this period I will be looking at some astrological charts to work with so that I can get back to the predicitive processes that I introduced earlier with O.J. Simpson.  Again, I do appreciate direct e-mails but I would prefer postings here on the Ninth House site so that others can read the comments offered.

Dave

About dadsnook

Dave has been exploring cyclic astrology since the mid-1970's. CYCLIC astrology utilizes both Return charts and planetary-pair cycles for short-term prediction. These practices and four years of archived material are available for study or reading at ninthhouse.wordpress.com A new book, Personal Prediction ISBN 978-9-615-63033-5, has been published and the MC-Solar Cycle technique is now supported through a recognized software provider so that all students and practicing astrologers can apply these techniques for their own use. Recently, Dave has been exploring a new charting format:, transiting Moon to natal Sun Return charts. These moon-sun returns show how see seek to maintain or deal with change in our lives. A book is expected to be released in 2015. Contact Dave for details at dadsnook@charter.net Dave is a retired business systems analyst and automation systems engineer, enjoys woodcarving and tarot in addition to astrology.
This entry was posted in Tarot Art. Bookmark the permalink.