A New Twist on Diurnal Charts

IMG_4870

Walking down steps isn’t always easy!  You might think that after 77 years I’d have learned to walk down steps.  Apparently not. On May 13th, after teaching an afternoon Chess class to 2nd and 3rd grade students I took a tumble.  Grabbing the railing, I still managed to fall and give myself a bruising of the upper left leg muscles.  Severe pain at first.  It took several minutes before I could stand up with help.  Two weeks later I took a tour with my travel club to Amish Country in Lancaster, PA.  The picture shown here is myself and my wife, Jan, at the Liberty Bell in Philadelphia.   An astrological friend asked me to look at my Diurnal chart.  Here is what I came up with.

DiurnalDiurnal-Adv5-13-2014fallA

Diurnal charts can be cast for any day of the year and use the natal-birth time.  This has the effect of advancing the MC by about one degree per day.  With Diurnal charts, any given date within the year will have the same MC as that date in any other year.  Diurnal charts are your very own personal annual cycle chart — keyed to your birth date & time.  For May 13th, relative to a Sept. 13th birth date, my MC had progressed from 5 Pisces to 8 Scorpio.  The chart above is significant.

  • t/Pluto is on the Ascendant; perhaps we can see this as bad things happening to good people.  Actually in everyday life, Pluto typically reflects plans gone awry, events that disrupt one’s regular activity, a transformative spa treatment or body cleansing.  The angular placement should alert us.  n/Pluto is in the 7th, squaring the t/nodal axis;  this quirky aspect can suggest problems due to other people (I was watching a group playing basketball near my automobile and not paying attention to walking down the steps.
  • n/Uranus on the IC, opposite t/Moon on the MC; risk taking, fluctuating interests and changing moods can combine for surprises that affect on status in life.  If we play astrological hopscotch, we find t/Uranus-Venus in the 3rd house; this can clue us into what area of life an event might occur (house of travel, physical movement, communication)
  • t/Sun square n/Mars;  One acts in haste, with conflicting attentions, with less control.  t/Sun also opposes t/Saturn, a natal pattern.  n/Sun conjoins n/Neptune, opposes n/Saturn; a fluctuation in play between reality and daydreams.
  • t/Moon near the MC;  I’m not sure if this is close enough to be “in play”.
  • We have to look at Mars.  t/Mars is in the 9th (places of learning), conjoining t/Venus-Mercury and opposing t/Venus.

My dear friend of some 44 years points out an eclipse of last April at 8 Taurus, at my IC angle, my progressed Mars at 9 Scorpio and my MC angle, and mentioned something about my part of accidents being at 10 Aries, opposite t/Mars.  She is into details, something that I never see.  She said, in so many words, “How could you not see this day as being a dangerous day?”  Since I seldom look at charts for myself, all I could do was to make a silly excuse.

Then, to really rub in my lack of attention to detail, she said, “Why don’t you progress the diurnal MC to the time of your accident?”  Now, this was very intriguing.  Taking the time difference between the accident, about 4:15 PM, and my birth time which governs the diurnal chart, 11:42 PM, I subtracted 7 hours and 25 minutes, yielding a chart time of 4h 17m.  Close enough.  And what did I see?

DiurnalDiurnal-Adv5-13-2014fall

  •  t/Mars on adjusted Asc.;  Hasty action, hurtfull results.  n/Mars squares t/Sun.  My health and vitality can be compromised.
  • t/Pluto on the IC angle;  sudden changes, compromises, disruption.  Combined with t/Mars being angular, this is not good at all.
  • t/Jupiter on the MC;  this is likely my protector from more-serious harm such as a broken leg.  That would have ruined my planned trip two weeks later.
  • t/Venus-Urnaus at the Desc. angle, along with my part of accidents. 
  • If I borrow my technique of the CD (Co-Descendant) from my Solar Returns and derived daily charts, I take the Asc.-MC arc angle of 88 degrees and apply it to the MC to get a CD point of 15 Aries, conjoining t/Uranus; sudden situations will enter my life.

This is a very telling chart.  I normally do not do charts for myself.  My focus on cyclic astrology is such that I look at a daily chart and make my assessments from that chart alone.  It had not occurred to me to take a “daily” chart which showed a dangerous situation and to rotate it so as to be able to see when the danger-points could be fully activated by angular positions.

This is a “twist” to using Diurnal charts that I had not been familiar with.  Perhaps any of my readers who have worked with charts in this manner will comment and share their views and experiences.  Dave

 

About dadsnook

Dave has been exploring cyclic astrology since the mid-1970's. CYCLIC astrology utilizes both Return charts and planetary-pair cycles for short-term prediction. These practices and four years of archived material are available for study or reading at ninthhouse.wordpress.com A new book, Personal Prediction ISBN 978-9-615-63033-5, has been published and the MC-Solar Cycle technique is now supported through a recognized software provider so that all students and practicing astrologers can apply these techniques for their own use. Recently, Dave has been exploring a new charting format:, transiting Moon to natal Sun Return charts. These moon-sun returns show how see seek to maintain or deal with change in our lives. A book is expected to be released in 2015. Contact Dave for details at dadsnook@charter.net Dave is a retired business systems analyst and automation systems engineer, enjoys woodcarving and tarot in addition to astrology.
This entry was posted in Diurnal charts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.